The Burning Hell - People

cover The Burning Hell People vinyl CD
cover The Burning Hell People vinyl CD

The Burning Hell - People

from 8.00
Add To Cart

"Not many albums open with the line "You were a Nazi hunter..." it's just one notable way in which The Burning Hell's sixth LP (but first in the UK) proclaims its lone wolf conceptions. The band is mostly the product of songwriter Mathias Kom, a mischievous, caustic people's poet with a world view that lets you know the good guys occasionally win. (...)"
- (Andy Fyfe, Q Magazine, UK) 

"Lyrics are the thing for Newfoundland-based songwriter Mathias Kom, his sixth album houses some extraordinary stories, not least the word-heavy "Amateur Rappers"... 
- (Alastair McKay, UNCUT, UK) 

"I just love this. (...) This is one of the freshest, sharpest, hippest, funniest songs that has come our way in a LONG time, and the video matches the record - frame by frame - for its dry, knowing rapid-fire wit.. (...)"
- (Tom Robinson, BBC Introducing / Freshonthenet on Amateur Rappers) 

"He's our Randy Newman and Cole Porter rolled into one, with one eye on the coming apocalypse and another on the neck of his ukulele." - (The Globe and Mail, CA) 

"Kom doesn't try to create moments that are bigger than life. No, he focuses on making life's most basic elements combine in wonderful, magical reactions. Through Kom's eyes, we see life is for the living, not the dreamers. The real rewards come from finding the hidden beauty in what we have, who we are and and who we meet, not in what we desire."
- (Herohill, CA) 


1  / A1: Grown-Ups -  (4:46)  
2 / A2: Holidaymakers - (4:56) 
3 / A3: Amateur Rappers -  (4:30)
4 / A4: Realists - (5:01) 
5 / A5: Sentimentalists - (2:11) 
6 / B1: Barbarians -  (7:09) 
7 / B2: Wallflowers - (4:04) 
8 / B3: Travel Writers - (3:35) 
9 / B4: Industrialists -  (7:01)

all songs: words and music by Mathias Kom

Mathias Kom: guitar, ukulele, xylophone, lead vocals
Ariel Sharratt: clarinet, vocals
Darren Browne: lead guitar
Nick Ferrio: bass, lapsteel, vocals
Jake Nicoll: drums, keys, vocals
Clemence Freschard: zafzafa, vocals
Stanley Brinks: saxophone, vocals