The Burning Hell - Public Library

The Burning Hell Public Library cover
The Burning Hell vinyl pack shot Public Library
The Burning Hell Public Library cover
The Burning Hell vinyl pack shot Public Library

The Burning Hell - Public Library

from 12.00
Add To Cart

"Surreal humour and virtuoso verbosity from arch Canadians. The wordy songsmith behind Canadian quintet The Burning Hell, Mathias Kom has a dry wit and sharp eye that elevate routine indie-rock tunes into offbeat storytelling treats...." - Stephen Dalton, UNCUT, UK

"...what never fails to surprise and delight me is the way songwriter Mathias Kom manages to turn absurdly unwieldy and sesquipedalian verses into the most addictive, accessible, and downright fun songs you could imagine..." - Joel Dear, thealbumwall


The seventh Burning Hell album is a collection of eight short stories drawn from different sections of the bookshelf of the brain. A murder mystery rubs shoulders with a biography, while a romance leans against a prison diary. There’s a killer priest, a nameless band lost in Yorkshire, and Elvis and Michael Jackson moonwalking their way into space and/or global annihilation. Despair and hope go hand in hand here, and although Mathias Kom’s songwriting has never been wordier, the stories never stranger, and the band never louder, the essence of The Burning Hell remains constant: life is not really so bad, as long as you can laugh a little and you have something decent to read.

1 / A1: The Stranger - (05:56)
           (murder mystery)
2 / A2: The Road  - (05:15)
            (music biography)
3 / A3: Fuck The Government,
             I Love You - (04:17)    
             (romantic comedy) 
4 / A4: Men Without Heads - (03:47) 
             (coming-of-age story) 
5 / B1:  Good Times  - (04:26)
             (true crime)  
6 / B2: Give Up  - (05:07)
             (literary criticism / philosophy)  
7 / B3: Two Kings - (04:21)
             (science fiction / fantasy) 
8 / B4: Nonfiction - (05:57)

The players:
Mathias Kom - vocals, guitar, trombone, bass harmonica
Ariel Sharratt - vocals, saxophone, clarinet
Darren Browne - vocals, lead guitar
Jake Nicoll - vocals, drums, pump organ, synths, piano
Nick Ferrio - vocals, bass guitar

Recorded by Al Harle with Mike Collins
at Big Jelly Studios, Ramsgate,
except „Fuck The Government, I Love You“,
recorded by Norman Nietzsche at Butterama, Berlin
featuring trombone by Sebastian Maschat
Mixed by Jeff McMurrich at 6 Nassau, Toronto
Mastered by Bo Kondren at Calyx, Berlin
Photo by Sears Portrait Studio, St. John’s
Illustrations and layout by Jud Haynes.